食物

加拿大的多元文化意味着这里有很多不同的食物。学生将会在白马市各处的特色商店找到一些来自家乡的食物。此外还有一些提供不同种族菜色的餐馆。

健康

重要提示!请从家中带来药品和处方。在加拿大学习期间,学生必须有医疗保险。如果你不能证明你已在来加拿大之前购买了医疗保险,你则必须在来到加拿大之后购买私营医疗保险。这项政策是为了向你提供保障。

若要寄钱到加拿大,可通过银行安排直接转帐。转帐可能需要数周时间,所以你需要带一些旅行支票或一张银行汇票,你抵达之后可以把它们存入银行。
当你抵达之后,你应该有足够的钱支付一个月的住宿和食物,以及学费、书费和医疗保险。为了安全起见,第一个月的预算大约为$5,500。请记住,第一个月的费用比较高,因为你要进行安置。

至于学费的付款,育空学院接受Visa和Mastercard、国际银行汇票、汇款单或旅行支票。

情况介绍会

当你抵达之后,我们将邀请你参加国际学生情况介绍会。情况介绍会有助于学生了解白马市的生活,以及如何在育空学院学习期间取得最大的收获。

祈祷

白马市提供巴哈教派、佛教、基督教、福音派教会、俄罗斯正教,以及其他多种宗教服务。

娱乐活动

在白马市有很多室内和户外设施,足以使你忙碌、活跃。白马市在2007年主办过加拿大冬季运动会,在这里,加拿大的年轻运动员在世界级的运动场馆竞赛 – 全部位于白马市。这座城市最近兴建了一座室内多功能体育设施,里面有一个游泳池、溜冰场、运动场和田径跑道。而户外环境提供无数的机会,供散步、远足和骑自行车,此外还有河流和湖泊,供水上运动。至于冬季活动,滑雪/滑雪板中心和越野滑雪中心是很受人们喜爱的地方。欲了解参加各种活动的更多内容,请点击这里(Click here)

交通

一张公共汽车月票价值$50加元。一张单票是$2。

在夏季有一个自行车租用计划,收费$100。你在九月归还自行车之后可收到$50退款。夏季延长的天光使得在全天任何时候都可以在白马市愉快地骑自行车。
有些学生选择驾车旅行。

如果你刚刚来到育空地区,你必须在抵达后90天之内获得驾驶执照(driver’s license)

to top of page

准备提示/到达资讯

考虑来加拿大学习吗?

育空学院欢迎你来到加拿大的北方。我们期待着与你见面,了解你们的文化和原居住国家。我们希望你乐于了解多元的加拿大/育空地区文化,并希望你在育空学院的学习经历丰富多彩。

以下的一些资讯将有助于你做好准备,使你在育空学院的经历愉快而且安全。

服装

白马市的气温(Temperatures)每个季节都大为不同。夏季的气温从摄氏15度至30度,冬季的气温可从摄氏零下5度到极冷的零下40度。虽然可能会有些贵,但最适合的冬季服装可在白马市购买。这里有许多学生可能想要参加的户外冬季活动,例如滑雪或玩滑雪板。要享受这些活动并保证安全,适当的冬季服装是必要的。暖和的服装也很重要,这样一来你就可以尽享在育空地区的时光。然而室内全年都是非常温暖的。

建议准备的夏季服装:

  • 短裤
  • T恤衫
  • 长袖衫
  • 针织套衫
  • 牛仔裤
  • 长裤
  • 舒适并适合活动的鞋
  • 凉鞋
  • 旅行靴(这里有很多可步行探索的旷野)
  • 帽子
  • 游泳衣/裤
  • 绒衣或毛衣
  • 雨衣/裤

建议准备的冬季服装:

  • 尼龙或Gortex外套或夹层外套/大衣(足以抵御零下40度的严寒)
  • 尼龙或夹层裤
  • 毛衣或绒衣
  • 冬季分指手套或连指手套
  • 毛线帽子或套头帽子
  • 毛线围巾
  • 有夹层的冬季皮靴(足以抵御零下40度的严寒)
  • 毛线袜子
  • 宽松式长裤
  • 冬季内衣/裤(用毛线、丝或其他御寒材料制成的长内衣/裤)

文化

加拿大是很多不同民族的家园。加拿大人称这种民族混合为加拿大的“文化马赛克”。来到这里就要准备接触来自其他国家的人,了解他们的风俗习惯、生活方式和他们原居住国家的食物。要准备欢迎不同的意见和观点,并积极参与白马市社区的活动。学习是你接受教育的一部分,你在加拿大为自己创造的经历也同样十分宝贵。

Important! Bring your medicine and prescriptions from home.  Students must have medical insurance coverage while studying in Canada.  If you are unable to prove that you bought medical insurance before coming to Canada, you will be required to buy private medical insurance once in Canada.  This policy is for your protection.


To send money to Canada, check with your bank to arrange a Direct Transfer. Transferring money can take several weeks, so you will need to bring traveller's cheques or a bank draft, which you can deposit when you arrive.

When you arrive you should have enough to pay for one month’s accommodation and food, as well as tuition, books and medical insurance.  It is safe to budget for approximately $5,500 for your first month.  Remember that costs will be higher in your first month, as you get set up.

For tuition payment, Yukon College accepts Visa and Mastercard, international bank drafts, money orders or traveller's cheques.


You will be invited to our International Student Orientation once you arrive.  The orientation assists students in learning about life in Whitehorse and how to get the most out of your time at Yukon College.


Whitehorse offers Bahai’, Buddhist, Christian, Evangelical, Russian Orthodox, and several other religious services.


There are numerous indoor and outdoor facilities in Whitehorse to keep you busy and active.  The city of Whitehorse hosted the Canada Winter Games in 2007 where Canada’s young athletes competed in world-class sport venues – all located in Whitehorse.  The city recently built an indoor multi-sport facility that includes a swimming pool, ice rinks, playing fields and a running track.  The outdoor environment provides endless opportunities for walking, hiking, and biking, as well as rivers and lakes for water sports. For winter activities, a ski/snow boarding centre and a cross country ski centre are popular locations.  Click here for more ideas about things to do.

A bus pass costs $62.00 Canadian per month. A single fare is $2.50. 

A bicycle program is available in the summer for $100. You’ll receive a refund of  $50 when you return the bike in September.  The extended light in summer makes bicycling around Whitehorse enjoyable at all hours. 
Some students choose to travel by car.  If you are new to the Yukon Territory and have an International Driver's License or a driver's license from your home country, you are required to get a driver’s license  within 120 days of arriving.

to top of page


Yukon College would like to welcome you to the Canadian North.  We look forward to meeting you and learning about your culture and home country.  We hope that you will enjoy learning about our diverse Canadian / Yukon cultures, and that you will have a fantastic experience studying at Yukon College. 

Here is some information that will help you prepare for and have a pleasant and safe Yukon College experience.


Temperatures in Whitehorse vary significantly from season to season.  Summer temperatures range from 15-30 degrees celsius. Winter temperatures can range from -5 to an extreme cold of -40 degrees celsius.  The most suitable winter clothing can be purchased or rented in Whitehorse.  There are many outdoor winter activities that students may want to participate in such as skiing or snowboarding.  Proper winter clothing is necessary to enjoy these activities and to stay safe. Warm clothing is also important, so that you enjoy your time in the Yukon. Indoors however, it's very warm all year round.

Suggested summer clothes:

  • Shorts
  • T-shirts
  • Long sleeve shirts
  • Sweater
  • Jeans
  • Long pants
  • Comfortable shoes for active wear
  • Sandals
  • Hiking boots (there are many wild places to explore on foot)
  • Hat
  • Swim wear
  • Fleece or wool jacket
  • Rain jacket/pants

Suggested winter clothes:

  • Dawn or Gortex jacket or insulated jacket/coat
  • Nylon or insulated pants
  • Wool sweater or fleece jacket
  • Winter gloves or mitts
  • Wool hat or touque
  • Wool scarf
  • Insulated winter boots
  • Wool socks
  • Loose fitting long pants
  • Winter underwear (long underwear in wool, silk or other material good for cold weather)


Canada is home to many different nationalities.  Canadians call this mix of nationalities Canada's “cultural mosaic.”  Come prepared to meet people from other countries and learn about their customs, way of life and home country food.  Be prepared to welcome differences and to become active in the Whitehorse community.  Studying is one part of your education; the experiences you create for yourself in Canada are equally valuable.


Canada’s diverse culture means that many different foods are available here.  Students will be able to find some foods from home in specialty shops around Whitehorse.  There are also restaurants that offer various ethnic menus.