Contact Us

We have the expertise to support your research and innovation needs through our in-house experts and circumpolar connections across the North.

Our staffresearchers and adjunct faculty are here to solve northern problems with northern expertise.

Staff:

Yukon Research Centre
Elaine Austin
Admin Support
t. 867.668.8895
eaustin@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kyla Foster
Financial Officer
kkfoster@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Clint Sawicki
Acting Vice President, Research
t. 867.668.8772
csawicki@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Michael Vernon
Communications Officer
t. 867.668.8786
mvernon@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Cold Climate Innovation
Stephen Mooney
Director
t. 867.456.8670
smooney@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Eoin Sheridan
Project Officer
t.867.456.8637
esheridan@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Northern Climate ExChange
Dr. Bronwyn Benkert
Manager
t. 867.456.8632
bbenkert@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Brian Horton
Research Project Coordinator
t. 867.456.8636
bhorton@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Alison Perrin
Climate Change Education and Project Coordinator
t. 867.456.8593
aperrin@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Resources and Sustainable Development in the Arctic
Dr. Valoree Walker
Coordinator
t. 867.668.8857
c. 867.332.7376
vwalker@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Technology Innovation 
Jason Rayner
Project Officer
t. 867.668.8792
jrayner@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Researchers:

Dr. Bronwyn Benkert
Isotope Hydrologist
Manager, Northern Climate ExChange,
Yukon Research Centre
t. 867.456.8632
bbenkert@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Dr. Fabrice Calmels
Permafrost Scientist
Research Associate,
Northern Climate ExChange,
Yukon Research Centre
Phone: 867.456.8594
fcalmels@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Lisa Christensen
Rural Sociologist
Yukon Research Centre
t. 867.456.8635
(on leave until December 2016)
lchristensen@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Dr. Amelie Janin
Water Chemist
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Mine Life Cycle,
Yukon Research Centre
t.  867.668.8881
ajanin@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Dave Mossop
Conservation Biologist, Ornithologist
Biology Instructor, Professor Emeritus,
Biodiversity Monitoring,
Yukon Research Centre
t.  867.668.8736
dmossop@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Guillaume Nielsen
PhD Student
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Mine Life Cycle,
Yukon Research Centre
gnielsen@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Michael Ross
Electrical Engineer
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Northern Energy Innovation
Yukon Research Centre
t. 456.8539
mross@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Louis-Philippe Roy
Permafrost Researcher
Northern Climate ExChange
Yukon Research Centre
t. 867.456.8665
lroy@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Dr. Jos Samuel
Hydrological Modeler
Postdoctoral Fellow,
Northern Climate ExChange,
Yukon Research Centre
jsamuel@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Dr. Lisa Kanary
Mathematical Modeller
Yukon Research Centre
lkanary@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Adjunct Faculty:

Dr. Ellen Bielawski
Professor
Department of Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology
Faculty of Native Studies
University of Alberta

Dr. Erik Blake
President
Icefield Tools Corporation

Dr. Andre Bourcier
Linguist
Yukon Native Language Learning Centre

Dr. Suzanne de la Barre
Faculty
Department of Tourism and Recreation
Vancouver Island University

Ms. Jody Butler-Walker
Executive Director
Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research

Dr. Doug Clark
Centennial Chair in Human Dimensions of Environment and Sustainability
School of Environment and Sustainability
University of Saskatchewan

Ms. Lawrie Crawford
Project Director
Relational Governance Project
Yukon College

Dr. Guy Dore
Professor
Department de genie civil
Laval University

Dr. Greg Finnegan
Principal,
Changing Climate Consulting

Dr. Lisa Kanary
Mathematical Modeller
Consultant
lgkanary@gmail.com
 

Dr. Jeff Kavanaugh
Associate Professor
Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
University of Alberta

Dr. Ramona Maraj
Carnivore Biologist
Department of Environment - Government of Yukon

Dr. Aynslie Ogden
Senior Science Advisor
Executive Council Office
Government of Yukon

Dr. Andrey N. Petrov
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
University of Northern Iowa

Dr. J.P. Pinard, P.Eng.
Consulting Engineer

Dr. Gertie Saxinger
Anthropologist
University of Vienna
Arctic Polar Research Institute
gertrude.eilmsteiner-saxinger@univie.ac.at

Dr. Chris Southcott
Professor
Department of Sociology
Lakehead University

Dr. Katherine Stewart
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil Science
University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Wayne Strong
Synecologist
Research Associate
Arctic Institute of North America

Dr. Deatra Walsh
Labour Market Programs Specialist
Department of Family Services
Government of Nunavut

Dr. Rachel Westfall
Statistician
Bureau of Statistics